State junior badminton from today

The KIMS inter-district and State junior badminton championships will get underway at the Jimmy George indoor stadium here on Thursday.

Defending champion Kozhikode has been given the top billing in the inter-district event followed by Ernakulam and host Thiruvananthapuram.

The three teams will dominate the team events.

In singles event, the top ranked junior player in the State, Treesa Jolly, has given the event a miss in order to participate in the junior international tournament in Pune.

Riza favourite

In her absence, Thiruvananthapuram’s Mehreen Riza will start as the favourite.

She is seeded number one in both under-17 and under-19 categories.

In boys’ under-17 section, U. Sankar Prasad of Thiruvananthapuram is the top seed.

Govind Krishna of Palakkad is the top seed in the under-19 category.

The tournament will conclude on August 13.

The seedings: Boys: Under-17: 1. U. Sankar Prasad (Tvm), 2. Manav Raj Sumith (Ekm), 3. P.S. Ravi Krishna (Tsr), 4. Shehil Muhammed (Knr), 5. Jeffery Paul (Ekm).

Under-19: 1. Govind Krishna (Pkd), 2. K. Nikhil (Koz), 3. P.S. Ravi Krishna (Tsr), 4. Jacob Thomas (Pth), 5. Srichand Shyam (Pkd).

Girls: Under-17: 1. K. Mehreen Riza (Tvm), 2. Diya Arun (Ekm), 3. Gowri Krishna (Pth), 4. Dhwany Krishna (Tvm), 5. E.S. Nandana (Ekm).

Under-19: 1. Mehreen Riza (Tvm), 2. Diya Arun (Ekm), 3. E.S. Nandana (Ekm), 4. Anjali Pradip (Ekm), 5. Gowri Krishna (Ekm)

Source: Read Full Article