Chetan Sharma retained as chairman of new selection panel

Chetan Sharma was on Saturday retained as the chairman of the senior selection committee, exactly two months after his entire panel was disbanded by the BCCI following India’s semi-final exit at the T20 World Cup.

Chetan’s new team, though, would have entirely new faces with junior chairman of selectors Sridharan Sharath of South Zone being promoted. The others in the panel are Subroto Banerjee from East Zone, Salil Ankola from West Zone and Shiv Sunder Das from Central Zone.

Das qualified from the Central Zone for being a former Vidarbha player after he finished playing for Odisha.

His colleague, Harvinder Singh, also reapplied but wasn’t considered after interview as he was believed to be not up to the mark.

“The board received around 600 applications following its advertisement for the five posts issued on its official website on 18th November 2022,” BCCI secretary Jay Shah said in a release.

“Upon due deliberation and careful consideration, the CAC shortlisted 11 individuals for personal interviews. Based on the interviews, the committee has recommended the following candidates for the senior men’s national selection committee,” he added.



Source: Read Full Article