14 new marks set on day two

The humid conditions were tough, but it didn’t deter athletes from setting 14 new marks on the second day of the M.K. Joseph memorial 15th Kerala State inter-district club athletics championships at the Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium here on Friday.

Aparna Roy of Malabar Sports Academy kept her date with the record by easily winning the 100m hurdles in the girls under-18 section. Aparna, who is the National school games champion and was chosen as the best athlete in the Khelo India school games, breasted the tape at 14.07s. She broke M.S. Darasana’s old mark (14.67s), set in 2008.

Braving the conditions

Navy’s M.N. Nasimudheen was among the first one to brave the adverse conditions to set a new mark in the men’s 110m hurdles.

The former St. George HSS athlete clocked 14.72s to break Nibu George’s old mark of 15.1 seconds which was set nine years ago.

C.D. Akhil of Mundur HSS hogged the limelight in the afternoon by breaking international M. Renjith’s 15-year-old record in the under-18 boys triple jump. Akhil cleared 15.37m in his fourth attempt to improve M. Renjith’s old mark (15.21m) set in 2003.

In the girls under-14 section, E.S. Sivapriya of Govt. Fisheries School equalled Niksy Joseph’s 15-year-old record in long jump.

At the end of competition on the second day, MA Sports Academy, Kothamangalam was leading the points table with 280 points.

Alphonsa Athleitc Club, Pala (233) and SAI Thiruvananthapruam (171) were in second and third spots respectively.

The records:

Men: 110m hurdles:
M.N. Nasimudheen (Indian Navy) (14.72s; OR-15.1s, Nibu George, MA College, 2009);
3000m steeplechase:
S. Akash (Alphonsa Athletic Club) (9:40.30s; OR-9:56.6s, K.S. Renjith, SB College, 2008);
Long jump:
V. Muhammed Anees (SAI, Tvm) (7.68m; OR- 7.34m, Anoop Thomas, SAI Tvm, 2009);
High jump:
Geo Jos (ENSA, Ekm) (2.11m; OR-2.10m, Manoj Thomas, MA College, 2009);
M. Arjun (44.56m; OR-40.96m, Nibu T.Ninan, St.Thomas College, 2011).

Boys: Under-20: 3000m steeplechase:
Aswin Antony (9:50.56s; OR- 9:56.40, Stanly Leo, PSA, Pkd, 2015).

Under-18: 1500:
Adarsh Gopi (Mar Basil HSS, Ekm) (4:0.01; OR- 4:03.4, Twinkle Tomy, SAI Tvm, 2012);
Triple jump:
C.D. Akhil Kumar (Mundur HSS) (15.37m; OR -15.21, M. Renjith, SNC Klm, 2003).

Under-16: Shot put:
A. Anandu (SAI, Tvm) (13.74m; OR – 13.42m, Joji Eldhose, SAI Tvm, 2015);
B. Akash (SAI Tvm) (5:52.53m; OR-5:58.80m, P. Sreerag, GHSS Parli, 2015).

Women: 100m hurdles:
Dibi Sebastian (Alphonsa Athletic Club, Pala) (14.44s; OR-14.7s, Jojimol Joseph, Alphonsa College Pala, 2009).

3000m Steeplechase:
M.S. Shruthi (Alphonsa Athletic Club Pala) (11:22.10s; OR-11:48.37, M.V. Rameswari GHSS, Parli, 2011);
Jincy Renny (MA Sports Academy, Ekm) (35.41m; OR-35.22M, K. Fathima, Mercy College, Pkd, 2008).

Abitha Mary Manuel (Usha School) (55.52m; OR-56.02, Aswathi Mohanan, Usha School, 2010).
Under-18: 100m hurdles:
Aparna Roy (Malabar Sports Academy) (14.07s; OR-14.67s, M.S. Darsana, Usha School, 2008).

Under-14 (EMR): Long jump:
E.S. Sivapriya (Govt Fisheries HSS, Tsr) (5.14m; EMR-5.14, Nisky Joseh, Labour India, 2003).

Source: Read Full Article