Senthil Balaji files nomination papers

Ex-Minister is DMK’s nominee for Aravakurichi

Former Minister and DMK nominee V. Senthil Balaji filed his nomination papers for the Aravakurichi bypoll at the Taluk Office on Wednesday.

Accompanied by former MLA K.C. Palanisamy and Congress candidate for the Karur Lok Sabha constituency S. Jothimani, Mr. Balaji submitted the documents to Returning Officer K. Meenatchi.

Earlier, he led a procession from Bazaar to Taluk Office. A large number of cadres from the DMK, the Congress, the Communist Party of India, the Communist Party of India (Marxist) and others participated in the procession. Former Ministers K. Ponmudi, Subbulakshmi Jagadeesan and M. Chinnasamy also took part.

Over ₹2 crore in assets

As per the sworn affidavit filed by Mr. Balaji, who served as Transport Minister between 2011 and 2015 in the AIADMK government, he owns immovable properties worth ₹1.10 crore. His movable properties are worth ₹80.59 lakh. His wife S. Mekala has immovable properties worth ₹61.43 lakh, while those of his daughter Nandini are worth ₹9 lakh.

During 2017-18, Mr. Balaji’s income from all sources was shown as ₹18.44 lakh, while Ms. Mekala’s income during the same period was ₹13 lakh. He has 9 cases pending against him in various police stations, two of which pertain to job rackets.

One among the 18 disqualified AIADMK MLAs, Mr. Balaji is seeking re-election from Aravakurichi on a DMK ticket this time. He is in the fray in Aravakurichi for the third time in three years. The election in the constituency, along with the one in Thanjavur, was rescinded in May 2016 following allegations of large-scale distribution of money to voters. The Election Commission decided to hold the polls in November.

On both occasions, Mr. Balaji contested on an AIADMK ticket. He defeated DMK nominee K.C. Palanisamy with a comfortable margin in the election held in November 2016.

Mr. Balaji, who sided with T.T.V. Dhinakaran after the demise of former Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, was one of the founding members of the AMMK. But he quit the party to join the DMK.

Source: Read Full Article