General elections 2019 live | AIMIM enters LS poll fray in Maharashtra

The day’s election-related developments at a glance.


AIMIM enters LS poll fray in Maharashtra

The Asaduddin Owaisi-led All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) on Tuesday announced its Maharashtra MLA Imtiaz Jaleel as the party candidate from Aurangabad Lok Sabha constituency in the western state.

Polling would be held in Aurangabad in the third phase of elections on April 23.

“Imtiaz Jaleel will be AIMIM’s candidate for the Aurangabad Parliamentary Constituency,” Mr. Owaisi tweeted.

The AIMIM is contesting Lok Sabha elections for the first time outside Telangana and Andhra Pradesh.

It has fielded its Bihar unit chief Akther Ul Imam from Kishanganj parliamentary constituency in the state, party sources said here.

Mr. Jaleel, sitting MLA from Aurangabad Central, tweeted he "will be contesting MP seat from Aurangabad on Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi and MIM ticket".


Want to focus on Mumbai North West now: Sanjay Nirupam

Former Mumbai Congress president Sanjay Nirupam says he hopes factionalism in the party would end as the new chief takes over.

"I hope that with my exit factionalism within our unit ends. And no one will go to our high command in Delhi with complaints," Mr. Nirupam said at a press conference in Mumbai.

The Congress high command replaced Mr. Nirupam with Milind Deora as the Mumbai Congress. Mr. Nirupam has been announced has the party’s nominee for Mumbai North West seat.

Congratulating Mr. Deora, Mr. Nirupam said he will now be focussing on his constituency. "I have been living here for over two decades and know the local issues," he added.

Jaya Prada joins BJP

General elections 2019 live | AIMIM enters LS poll fray in Maharashtra


Actor-turned-politician Jaya Prada has joined the BJP and could be fielded by the party from the Rampur parliamentary constituency in Uttar Pradesh.

Ms. Jaya Prada, a close associate of former Samajwadi Party leader and Rajya Sabha MP Amar Singh, had been elected from Rampur on SP ticket twice.

If fielded by the BJP from Rampur, she will take on senior SP leader Azam Khan.

Kanhaiya Kumar launches crowd-funding campaign

Former student union leader Kanhaiya Kumar, who will be making his electoral debut from Begusarai constituency in Bihar, has launched a fundraising campaign through a portal.

"It is often that people who raise genuine issues have to face vile schemes on one hand and resource crunch on the other. We really hope that you will make a financial contribution to the best of your ability and strengthen us in this shared struggle," Mr. Kumar said seeking donation.

AIMIM president Asaduddin Owaisi declares Imtiyaz Jaleel as candidate for Aurangabad Parliamentary Constituency.

Mr. Jaleel is currently the Aurangabad MLA. The AIMIM is fighting elections in Maharashtra in an alliance with Prakash Ambedkar-led Bharip Bahujan Mahasangh.

BJP has asked me not to contest in elections: Joshi

BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi. File

BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi. File
| Photo Credit:
The Hindu


The BJP has asked veteran leader and one of the party founders Murli Manohar Joshi not to contest in the upcoming Lok sabha elections.

Dr. Joshi has issued a brief statement for voters in Kanpur, from where the 85-year-old leader had won in 2014.

The statement said BJP general secretary (organisation) Ram Lal, a Rashtriya Swayamsewak Sangh (RSS) appointee, had conveyed Joshi the party leadership’s decision that he should not be contesting the elections.

BJP leaders said the party has taken a “principled decision” that veterans should make the way for younger leaders.

Ananth Kumar supporters unhappy with BJP’s decision on denying ticket to Tejaswi

Ananth Kumar's supporters protest in front of his house at Basavagudi, after BJP did not give ticket to the late leader's wife, for contesting from Bengaluru South.

Ananth Kumar’s supporters protest in front of his house at Basavagudi, after BJP did not give ticket to the late leader’s wife, for contesting from Bengaluru South.
| Photo Credit: K. Murali Kumar


The BJP, past midnight on Monday, declared Tejasvi Surya as the party’s candidate from Bengaluru South, a seat that had been held by late union minister Ananth Kumar till his death last year.

Kumar’s wife, Tejaswi Ananth Kumar, was believed to be the top contender. State BJP chief B.S. Yeddyurappa had even publicly announced that he has recommended her name.

Monday’s late night announcement came as a surprise to many. Kumar’s supporters, on Tuesday, gathered outside his residence and raised slogans against the party. 

BJP announces names of 4 more Lok Sabha candidates

The BJP has released names of four more Lok Sabha election candidates and announced its nominee for Odisha’s Bijepur assembly constituency, the second seat from where Chief Minister Naveen Patnaik is contesting the state polls. With this list, the party has announced names of 310 candidates for the general elections.

In Karnataka, the BJP has fielded Ashawat Narain from Bangalore Rural and Tejaswi Surya from Bangalore South.

Rajveer Singh Balmiki has been fielded from Uttar Pradesh’s Hathras (SC) Lok Sabha seat and Rupak Sharma from Nowgong in Assam

BJP’s Sanat Gadtia will contest against Chief Minister and BJD chief Naveen Patnaik in Bijepur

Source: Read Full Article