33 nominations accepted for Theni

In Dindigul, 26 papers are intact for LS constituency


The Theni Lok Sabha Constituency Returning Officer M Pallavi Baldev accepted 33 nominations and rejected 11 papers after the scrutiny was completed here on Wednesday.

According to officials, during the scrutiny, while the AMMK candidate, Thanga Tamil Selvan, objected to the papers filed by the AIADMK candidate O P Raveendranath. “Claiming that the AIADMK candidate had suppressed certain information on his immovable assets in the affidavit, he strongly raised objection and demanded that the nomination be rejected.”

Similarly, the Arapor Iyakkam had in a statement to the Returning Officer of Theni Lok Sabha Constituency pleaded for rejection of Mr. Raveendranath Kumar’s nomination.

After a careful observation of the nominations, the officials declared that the key contenders including Mr. Raveendranath (AIADMK), EVKS Elangovan (INC), and Mr. Thanga Tamil Selvan (AMMK) among others were found intact.

Periakulam and Andipatti

In Periakulam Assembly constituency, where byelection is to be held, the officials accepted 14 nominations and rejected three papers. In Andipatti Assembly constituency, the officials accepted 18 nominations and rejected eight papers.

Dindigul LS constituency

Returning Officer T.G. Vinay and his team of officials took up the nominations filed for scrutiny on Wednesday and found that 26 papers were intact and accepted them, while turned down two papers.

According to the officials, including the key candidates P Velusamy (DMK) and K Jothi Muthu (PMK), 26 nominations have been accepted. The candidates have time till Friday for withdrawal and the final list would be made known on Saturday.

Nilakottai Assembly

In Nilakottai Assembly, where by-poll is to be held, the officials received a total of 41 nominations. While 20 papers were accepted, 20 others were rejected and one nomination was being kept in abeyance for inquiry.

Apart from the poll officers, candidates and their representatives, Election (General) Observers designated by the Election Commission of India were present at the time of scrutiny.

Source: Read Full Article