20 global universities participate in ICAS batch orientation

As many as 20 global universities were present at the orientation of the 25th Silver Jubilee Batch of the International Transfer Programme in Engineering at International Centre for Applied Sciences (ICAS) at the Dr. T.M.A. Pai Hall here on Sunday.

According to a statement here, Radhakrishna S. Aithal, Director of ICAS, said that the programme, which started in 1994, has seen 1,700 students graduating and moving to one of the universities abroad.

“More than 100 leading overseas universities accept ICAS credits for continuation of full-time engineering studies,” he said.

“STEM education, integrating science, technology, engineering and mathematics into a cohesive learning paradigm, is the new trend in foreign universities. ICAS facilitates Indian students towards such holistic higher education to be pursued in the universities abroad,” Dr. Aithal said. Speaking as the chief guest, Narayana Sabhahit, Registrar of Manipal Academy of Higher Education (MAHE), gave a brief overview of the early days of MAHE and took the freshers and their parents through some of the achievements and unique opportunities provided by the university. He emphasised on the newly acquired status of “Institute of Eminence”. “MAHE is the only multi-disciplinary university in the country which has been accorded the status by the Ministry of Human Resource and Development. MAHE was given the deemed-to-be-university status in 1993 and we have almost all professional courses today,” he said.

He explained that the course at ICAS was unique and it was now being followed by some other universities in the country.

Under the International Transfer Programme in Engineering at ICAS, after two years of study in Manipal, the students take their credits and go to an overseas university of their choice, Dr. Sabhahit said.

The 20 global universities are: Lancaster University, Strathclyde University, University of Birmingham, Heriot-Watt University from the U.K.; Andrews University, Colorado State University, Drexel University, Wayne State University, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee from the U.S.; University of New South Wales, University of Queensland, RMIT University, Australian National University, Deakin University, University of Wollongong from Australia; University College Cork and Trinity College, Dublin, Ireland; Manipal International University, Malaysia; MAHE, Dubai; and ESIGELEC, France.

Source: Read Full Article